• Write On
  • Posts
  • How to write copy at warp-speed

How to write copy at warp-speed

Using frameworks and ChatGPT prompts

Welcome to the 9th issue of Write On!

I’m writing this after a ROUGH yoga session.

If there were a March Madness for the least flexible human in the world, I’d be a #1 seed.

But my fingers feel loose, and I’m ready to type.

Your downward facing Write On issue starts in 3...2…1…

Estimated read time: 5 minutes, 9 seconds (a little longer than normal, but you’ll see why 😉)

But first, a quick shoutout for the crew over at Ship 30 for 30:

Ship 30 For 30 Logo
  • It fixed my broken writing system.

  • It gave me the inspiration for this newsletter.

  • It introduced me to a bunch of other awesome writers.

Ship 30 is THE course to start writing online and build your audience.

Their next cohort starts on April 2nd.

Write On Line Break

Top Finds This Week:

📖 Storytelling: 10+ principles of effective storytelling (that you can start using today).

🧠 Psychology: 6 psychological triggers to turn your CTA into an irresistible click.

🖼 Framework: A 6-part email sequence that makes Jon damn-near $5,000 in sales every time he uses it (steal this one).

📜 Principles: You should include these in your headlines and subheadlines.

⚙️ Resource: A free ebook from Chris O. on generating massive paydays from your email list.

🤖 AI: A collection of 34 copywriting AI tools curated by Barsee.

🎁 Bonus: In case you missed it, I wrote a 3,300+ word beginner’s guide for you: The Art of Storytelling in Copywriting (100% free for all Write On subs always)!

Note: Some people mentioned that the drop-down arrows were acting funky, so here is a downloadable PDF version if that’s more your style.

Did you know you have access to this storytelling guide (plus 7 others)? Click here to check out the entire collection of Write On copywriting guides.

Write On Line Break

Write Your Marketing Emails 10x Faster With ChatGPT:

The PAS copywriting framework is one of the most reliable templates I’ve encountered in my 7+ years of email marketing.

It works like this:

  • Problem: What pain point does your reader have?

  • Agitate: How could this pain point get worse?

  • Solution: How does your product solve it?

I use it often.

So I was curious if ChatGPT could help me write emails faster using this framework.

After an hour or so of trial and error, I landed on this prompt:

Note: You don’t need to read the full prompt now (unless you really want to). I included it here in this format so you could easily copy and paste it later.

Craft a persuasive PAS-based copy for a marketing email promoting [Your Product/Service].

Begin with identifying the Problem, outlining the reader's pain points and the impact of [Main Problem or Pain Point] on their life or business.

Next, present the Agitation by digging deeper into the consequences and the emotional discomfort the reader experiences as a result of the problem, emphasizing the urgency to find a solution.

Then, introduce the Solution by showcasing [Your Product/Service] as the answer to their needs, highlighting the benefits [Benefit 1, Benefit 2, Benefit 3] and features [Feature 1, Feature 2, Feature 3] that make it stand out. Share testimonials or case studies from satisfied customers who have experienced improvements in [Specific Outcome or Result] after using [Your Product/Service].

Motivate the reader to take the [Desired Action] and emphasize [Your Offer] to create a sense of urgency.

Ensure that the output is a ready-to-use copy that can be directly added to the website.

[Your Product/Service] = 
[Main Problem or Pain Point] = 
[Benefit 1] = 
[Benefit 2] = 
[Benefit 3] = 
[Feature 1] = 
[Feature 2] = 
[Feature 3] = 
[Specific Outcome or Result] = 
[Desired Action] = 
[Your Offer] = 

The “[bracketed] =” section at the bottom is meant to act as your input fields.

e.g. I wanted to write an email for Beard Club pushing our top beard growth kit, so the final prompt looked like this (note the details I added at the bottom):

And here’s what Chat GPT produced in seconds.

I’d give this email a B- grade.

Could I write a better email than this? Absolutely YES

Would I be able to write this email as quickly? Absolutely NOT

But this gives me a rock-solid foundation to work off of. And that’s all I was looking for.

💡 Bottom line: Every second counts when you’re juggling a million different projects at work. Use this ChatGPT prompt to save time when you sit down to write your next PAS email.

What did you think of this breakdown? Was it helpful? Should I create more ChatGPT copywriting prompts like this in the future?

Click the button below if you want me to share more prompts like this:

NEW: Weekly Mailbag

Last week, I asked for writing questions from the Write On community.

This week’s mailbag question comes from Samantha:

How do you create outlines for your emails? I never know where to start with mine and I end up wasting so much time thinking of how to format the email.

Great question, Samantha. I promise you’re not alone in feeling this way.

I’m a big advocate of using templates (as you can see by the ChatGPT prompt I created above).

I’ve tried a bunch of different frameworks over the last 7+ years. And I’ve built up a swipe file of these templates that I refer back to often.

This pdf of 15 frameworks is my go-to resource and a great place to start. Try to keep each part of the framework to 1-2 sentences max, and you’ll end up with a solid campaign.

Hope this helps! Feel free to follow up with any questions over email.

Do you have any burning writing questions?

Submit your question below, and I'll answer it in a future issue of Write On. I read every question.

Write On Line Break

That’s all for this week. Thanks for reading.

See you next Wednesday!

Joe

Seinfeld gif - Always leave on a high note

Always leave on a high note

P.S. Whenever you’re ready, there are 3 ways I can help you:

  1. I’ve generated over $50,000,000 in email marketing revenue throughout my career. Want me to write emails for you? Shoot me an email, and let’s work together.

  2. Check out a list of my favorite copywriting tools and resources — perfect for any creator or solopreneur.

  3. Craving more writing tips? Check out past issues of Write On here.

P.P.S. And if you've got a moment, I'd love to get your feedback:

What did you think of today's newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

A WRITE ON REVIEW: