• Write On
  • Posts
  • This copywriting tip never fails

This copywriting tip never fails

Use it when you've run out of ideas.

Do you never get writer's block because you have an infinite source of high-performing, 'top 1%' ideas?

Can you generate hundreds of high-performing content ideas in just a few minutes?

Can you create and schedule your next 1-2 weeks of social media content in 1 or 2 hours using your 'idea bank'?

If you answered “no” to any of these questions, you’re not alone.

My friend, Tats, is on a mission to destroy writer’s block forever with his new self-paced course called: “The Infinite Creator”

The goal is simple: Help you stand out online and grow your audience with top 1 % ideas.

Don’t be another copy-paste zombie out there on social.

Become an Infinite Creator 👇

Welcome to the 42nd issue of Write On!

The newsletter that only owns one baseball jersey. The last player to ever wear #42 - Mariano Rivera.

Estimated read time: 2 minutes 32 seconds

I do this whenever I run out of copywriting ideas

Sometimes you just feel stuck.

You know your product inside and out, and yet, you have nothing to say.

You’re at the bottom of the barrel, looking for new copywriting ideas.

We’ve all been there.

So how do you find your way out of this rut?

My favorite trick: looking at customer reviews

Here’s a step-by-step approach for how I’d find new copy angles for Dude Wipes — with the goal of converting prospects into first-time customers:

Step 1: Find raving reviews

A quick search of Amazon, and I’ve found some great (and hilarious) reviews for one of their top-selling products: Dude Bombs (pods for deodorizing your toilet).

This customer went all out on their review, so this should be a goldmine (no need to read the full review, I’ll explain more in the next step):

Step 2: Pull out your golden nuggets

The best way to connect with your customer is to speak their language.

If your customers are describing your product in a certain way, chances are other potential customers would resonate with it too.

Here are some golden nuggets from the lengthy review above that could be repurposed in an email:

  • “I bought it because the guest bathroom is so close to the living room and not that far from the dining room area (who designed this house, I'll never know). I felt badly for my guests if they had diarrhea or a lot to, ahem, "dispense."

  • “I think what's wrong with other products is that they don't really cover up the scent of the waste; they just add a layer that when mixed is worse than the thing they're supposed to mask.”

  • “So, I don't feel afraid anymore. I've bought this for the office, and it works wonders.”

Step 3: Turn these golden nuggets into persuasive copy

Lastly, we’ll use the 3 quotes above and turn these review nuggets into actual copy we can use.

Example 1:

“I bought it because the guest bathroom is so close to the living room and not that far from the dining room area (who designed this house, I'll never know). I felt badly for my guests if they had diarrhea or a lot to, ahem, "dispense."

👇 turns into 👇

“For when you’re guest bathroom is a littleeee too close to the living room.”

Example 2:

“I think what's wrong with other products is that they don't really cover up the scent of the waste; they just add a layer that when mixed is worse than the thing they're supposed to mask.”

👇 turns into 👇

“Don’t add another layer to the smell. Eliminate it entirely.”

Example 3:

“So, I don't feel afraid anymore. I've bought this for the office, and it works wonders.”

👇 turns into 👇

“Have no 💩 fear. Dude Bombs are here.”

💡 Bottom line: Your customers can be your top copywriters if you let them! Use customer reviews for copy inspiration.

Top Finds This Week:

📖 Storytelling: 12 documentaries to help you master copywriting fast: (link)

💪 Writing Exercise: A quick writing hack to make all your words memorable: (link)

📜 Principles: Writing good content isn’t enough anymore. Here’s a 30-page textual formatting mega guide: (link)

✍️ Write On: I rarely purchase anything without first looking at these 3 things: (link)

That’s all for this week. Thanks for reading.

See you next Wednesday!

Joe profile picture

P.S. Whenever you’re ready, here’re two ways I can help you:

  1. Write On ad slots are back open! Get your business in front of 15,000+ other entrepreneurs: (👉Grab an ad slot)

  2. Keep your writing sharp all year round. Enjoy free lifetime access to my collection of Write On copywriting guides: (👉View all guides)

P.P.S. Meme for your thoughts?

What did you think of today's newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

A WRITE ON REVIEW: