What's your story?

Hint: it's the secret sauce of copywriting

Write On header image

Welcome to the 36th issue of Write On!

The newsletter that committed a false start on Monday night. 5-yard penalty. Repeat 1st down.

Estimated read time: 1 minute 17 seconds

What’s your story?

Not an easy question.

I’m talking about the real personal stuff.

The story you tell yourself every day when you get out of bed in the morning.

What motivates you to keep going?

I asked this question on Twitter a few months ago and got hundreds of responses.

The most common answers fell into 2 main buckets:

  • Growth

  • Freedom

That’s the secret sauce for copywriting right there.

Those 2 motivators are at the heart of everything I’m working on and what I hope to help others achieve.

It’s why I built my course.

Growth:

I love a challenge. Building and selling this course while working full-time has been brutal. There were so many times along the way when I wanted to quit.

But come Sunday, when enrollment for the course is officially closed, I will look back and see how far I’ve come and how much I learned.

My students are signing up for this course for similar results:

  • To grow their storytelling skillset

  • To grow their business revenue

  • To grow their confidence

We’re all making an investment in ourselves.

That fires me up.

Freedom:

I’m not going to work a full-time job forever. I want to pave my own way. Launching my first self-paced course is my first big step on that path to time and financial freedom.

My students are also fighting for freedom. They want to be free of sounding just like everybody else.

The best way to do that is with stories.

I couldn’t think of a more valuable skillset for:

  • Business owners

  • Entrepreneurs

  • Solopreneurs

  • Copywriters

  • Marketers

  • Creators

Time to cut through the noise.

Cheers!

Joe

P.S. We’ll be back to our regularly scheduled programming next Wed :)