Their email made me do it

But it wasn't the copywriting...

Write On header image

Welcome to the 35th issue of Write On!

The newsletter that can cook minute rice in 59 seconds.

Estimated read time: 2 minutes 59 seconds

Listen to Eminem

In a recent TMZ interview, Eminem was asked what he thought about The Storywriting Playbook waitlist.

Strange question, I know… But he replied:

“You only get one shot, do not miss your chance to blow

This opportunity comes once in a lifetime, yo”

- Eminem

He ain’t lying.

This is your last chance to get on the waitlist and secure a discounted price on my new course, The Storywriting Playbook.

I’ll be sharing more details with the waitlist signups over the next few days via email.

The early access discount period will take place from 9/25 - 9/26 (Mon - Tues).

This is the lowest price the course will ever be. So, if you’re even remotely interested in using storytelling to make more money online, you might as well join the waitlist and find out if the course is the right fit for your needs.

Click the button below to join 520+ other Write On readers on the waitlist:

Email made me do it

Cover your ears if you’re a die-hard copywriter but…

Sometimes your copy doesn't matter at all.

Exhibit A:

I’ll share the email below in a second, but let’s expand on this tweet first.

The email was nothing special, but I was still highly motivated to take action.

Why was I highly motivated?

I signed up for this email list months ago because I want to fill ad slots in my newsletter after my course launches.

I want it to turn into a steady stream of monthly income that I could eventually go full-time on.

But I’m strapped for time. I can’t do hours of research and play the cold email game. I need a better way to find or attract sponsors.

Stages of awareness:

I signed up for this email list when I was in the Solution Aware stage. I knew that there were agencies out there that helped with this problem.

But I didn’t know who to turn to.

A few months ago, I wasn’t ready to pay anything. But I knew I would be looking for a solution someday as the newsletter grew.

Fast forward to 1 week ago and I’m much more motivated to buy.

And then this email hits my inbox:

To be clear, this email has nothing to do with what I want out of this business.

They’re talking about reaching new subscribers. I want to fill ad slots.

The message is off.

But I still click because it’s a secondary topic I’m always thinking about it.

I started to poke around their site and saw that they now offer a new service that does exactly what I’m looking for - cold outreach to sponsors.

I applied.

Their email succeeded in getting me to take action.

They moved me down the awareness funnel from Solution Aware to Product Aware (aware of their offer).

Now, I’m emailing back and forth with their team to learn more about the service and what they provide (Most Aware stage).

The goal is to be top of mind:

A lot of entrepreneurs I talk to worry about sending too many emails.

But when you have a prospect inches away from the finish line, you never know what the final tipping point will be that closes the sale.

Sending more emails:

  • Increases your chances of nailing the timing

  • Keeps you top of mind with your reader

  • Gives you more data on what works

💡 Bottom line: Don’t be afraid to send more emails.

P.S. I’ve sent hundreds of millions of marketing emails throughout my career. And have generated over $50,000,000 in email marketing revenue. If you ever have any questions about this stuff, don’t hesitate to reach out!

Top Finds This Week:

📖 Storytelling: Learn about writing, story, and the creative process from a guy who has sold over 10 million books: (link)

🧠 Psychology: 10 psychological triggers to boost sales from world's highest-paid copywriter: (link)

💪 Exercises: “This dead-simple writing "warm up" routine has helped me write every day for 700 days in a row:” (link)

✍️ Write On: The best cold email I’ve ever received, 7 reasons why it worked, and how you can replicate it: (link)

That’s all for this week. Thanks for reading.

See you next Wednesday!

Joe profile picture

P.S. Whenever you’re ready, here’re three ways I can help you:

  1. Facts tell. Stories Sell. Use storytelling in your copywriting to grow your business. Get early access to my new course, The Storywriting Playbook: (👉Add me to the waitlist!)

  2. Write On ad slots open back up in October. Lock in a discounted ad slot now while the newsletter continues to grow: (👉Grab an ad slot)

  3. Keep your writing sharp all year round. Enjoy free lifetime access to my collection of Write On copywriting guides: (👉View all guides)

P.P.S. It’s okay to tell me if this sucked. Your chance below:

What did you think of today's newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

A WRITE ON REVIEW: